Temples, Tuk-Tuks, and a Return Date

After relaxing at the beach for a few days, I traveled towards Siem Reap in a night bus. For anyone wondering…a “night bus” consist of rows of bunk beds with less than a shoulder width of space in the isles. I am not a claustrophobic person…but walking down these isles is a nightmare. Then again, I doubt the engineer had six foot westerner proportions on his priority list…

Siem Reap, home to the famed Temples of Angkor Wat, is a bustling city with an economy reliant on tourism. An official UNESCO archeological site, the temples served as the center of the Khmer Kingdom from the 9th to the 15th century and show off the civilization's architectural brilliance. It was also the set location for the movie Tomb Raider…which is awesome.

I ended up spending two days exploring the temples via a hired tuk-tuk driver who would take naps while I climbed across ancient ruins. Though many areas were damaged during the Khmer Rouge's attempts to erradicate Cambodian culture, a majority of temples still stand today. Multi-level structures dot the skyline with Angkor Wat's central pillar towering over 200 feet.

I am currently awaiting my Vietnam visa and plan to head to Ho Chi Minh city within the week. From there I will make a quick journey north through Vietnam and find my way back towards Thailand. I plan on booking my return ticket this week and the trip will round out to just under 3 months. I have found that the longer I am in Southeast Asia, the faster I move. This has to do with the initial “wow! everything is so different! ” effect wearing off. Vietnam should be a different ball game however…so prepare for awesome photos.

Thanks again to everyone who reads my blog. It's always cool to see comments and hear about others enjoying the trip.

Tomb Raider Kyle

Sunrise over Angkor Wat

One of many massive temples

 

Nature reclaiming the stones

Angkor Side View

 

This reminded me of a shot I took at the Vatican when I was 17...had to include it!

Now I like to tell boths sides of a story…and since I have been into photography since I was 16, I decided to capture some of the more “human” moments at Angkor Wat. The temperature in this area usually rest around 95 degrees with no breeze, therefore a day at the temples can be quite a draining/crazy experience. Being a UNESCO site also brings massive tourism to the area so pictures of empty temples aren't exactly accurate. Hope you enjoy…
Faces of Angkor:

Sweltering is an understatement

Temple Naps

Welcome to sunrise!

 

12 thoughts on “Temples, Tuk-Tuks, and a Return Date

  1. So glad you are still healthy and in great spirits. It has been great to view your photos and comments. Travel safe and come home soon. Don’t forget to get a few wildlife photos for your exhibit.

  2. Always love the photo of the crowd gathered to watch the sunrise at Angkor Wat! The chaos from the crowd provides an entertaining juxtaposition to the tranquil, lovely sunrise over the temple. Wish you all the fun in Vietnam, as your 3-months epic adventure draws to a close.

      • Don’t hesitate! Don’t look! It took me quite a while to get used to it! Put up your hand and just walk! They will go round you or stop but if you show any hesitation they will just keep going! Check out my latest blog post…there is a video of crossing a road in Saigon!

Leave a comment